• Addison Braves

    Addison Braves

  • Burlington Barons

    Burlington Barons

  • Greater Green Bay Blue Ribbons

    Greater Green Bay Blue Ribbons

  • Kenosha Kings

    Kenosha Kings

  • Lombard Orioles

    Lombard Orioles

  • Sheboygan A's

    Sheboygan A's

  • West Allis Nationals

    West Allis Nationals

Official website of the Wisconsin State League

Cavaliers Hand Out Awards

August 18, 2010

The Cavaliers finished their 40th season on a winning note and their winning streak will come to an end not because they lost but the season came to and end.

Wisconsin State League

The Cavaliers finished their 40th season on a winning note and their winning streak will come to an end not because they lost but the season came to and end. 

The Cavaliers played their final game at Carson Park before 425 fans and defeated the Osseo Merchants 10-0.

Wednesday’s win over Osseo extended their winning streak to 14 games and 22 out of 23 to end the season 36-12 and a second place finish in the WSL with a 19-8 record. 

The Cavaliers wasted no time scoring 4 runs in the bottom of the first aided by an RBI single by Ty Fadness to score Tanner Vavra. Lance Poppy followed with and RBI single to left that scored Fadness from first base.  Brad Archambeau and Jonathan Murphy added RBI singles and the Cavaliers were in control early. 

Cavaliers starting pitcher Davis Lenzen pitched the first three innings and was relieved by Yoshinori Machida in the fourth inning who pitched three innings allowing one hit and striking out four.  Troy Peiffer pitched the final inning striking out one. 

Fadness ended the scoring by first hitting a ball down the right field line that appeared to be fair to score both runners.  The ball was called foul and Fadness made the most out of the second chance by drilling the ball onto the fan deck for a three run homer to give the Cavs a 10-0 lead. 

The Cavaliers held their 40th Awards Banquet at the Green Mill Restaurant Thursday August 12.  The Cavalier Award winners were presented with their trophys. 

Best First Year Player: Mike Darley

Key Players: Cale Tassi and Tanner Vavra

Harv Tomter Best Pitcher Award: Andy Klein and T.J. Wink

Most Improved: Brady Sand and Ben Sebesta

Team Captains: Ty Fadness and Matt Miller

Leading Hitter: Ty Fadness

Richard O’Brien MVP Award: Ty Fadness and Matt Miller

Sanford Krueger Memorial Service Award: Tyler Dierke and Davis Lenzen.

Pictured from left to right in the main photo: Andrew Kline, Tyler Dierke, T.J.Wink, Ty Fadness, Brady Sand, knelling Ben Sebesta, Matt Miller,Tanner Vavra, Missing from the picture, Mike Darley and Davis Lenzen 

The Wisconsin State League is one of the premier semi-professional/amateur baseball leagues in the mid-west. In operation since 1970, the Wisconsin State League is a highly competitive league that features many of the midwest's top current and former collegiate athletes, as well as many former professional baseball players. Keep up to date on everything happening in the Wisconsin State League by following the league online on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

WisconsinStateLeague.com | #WSL