Bandits receive WSBL recognition

November 9, 2011

Two Manitowoc Bandits were named to the Wisconsin State Baseball League's All-League first team on Tuesday, while five others made the second team.

Wisconsin State League

Two Manitowoc Bandits were named to the Wisconsin State Baseball League’s All-League first team on Tuesday, while five others made the second team.

Player-manager Nat Richter (.329) was named to the first team as the second baseman and Max Stepan (.355) was named as the catcher. Stepan was one of just three players on either team to be a unanimous all-league selection. Brock Wetenkamp (.351) was named the second-team third baseman, Tommy Kawamura (.264) the shortstop and Liam O’Brien (8-1, 2.28) was named the left-handed starting pitcher. Kevin Valerio (.341) and Sam Spurney (.347) were named as two of the three outfielders for the second team.

Valerio earned 11 votes as the Rookie of the Year, which was good for second place behind Oshkosh’s Brock Guetzke, who garnered 18 votes.

Richter tied with Eau Claire’s Mark McHorney for second place in Manager of the Year voting, with 10 votes each. Jeff Vukovich, skipper of the champion Lombard Orioles, collected 12 points to be named the Manager of the Year.

Infielder Mike Hall had no errors on 116 chances in winning the league fielding title. As a team, the Bandits led the league in fielding, with a .975 percentage. They were the second best hitting team in the league with a team average of .294, behind Lombard’s .312.

The awards will be presented at the league Awards and Hall of Fame dinner on Jan. 28, at the Heritage House in Sheboygan Falls. Contact the league office at 920-458-6377 for more information about the dinner.

Wisconsin State Baseball League 2011 All-League Teams

First Team (position, name, team): First base, Nick Mitedoro, Lombard Orioles; Second base, Nat Richter, Manitowoc Bandits; Third base, Mark Cibrario, Kenosha Kings; Shortstop, Nolan Fadness, Eau Claire Cavaliers; Catcher, Max Stepan, Manitowoc Bandits; Outfielders, Tim Patzman, Sheboygan A’s; Blake Berger, Oshkosh Giants; Paul Pulera, Kenosha Kings; Designated hitter, Will Fadness, Eau Claire Cavaliers; Left-handed pitcher, Jake Peterson, Eau Claire Cavaliers; Right-handed pitcher, Brady Sand, Eau Claire Cavaliers

Second Team (position, name, team): First base, Brock Guetzke, Oshkosh Giants; Second base, Matt Miller, Eau Claire Cavaliers; Third base, Brock Wetenkamp, Manitowoc Bandits; Shortstop, Tommy Kawamura, Manitowoc Bandits; Catcher, James Lacey, Oshkosh Giants; Outfielders, Rick Angell, Lombard Orioles; Kevin Valerio, Manitowoc Bandits; Sam Spurney, Manitowoc Bandits; Left-handed pitcher, Liam O’Brien, Manitowoc Bandits; Right-handed pitcher, Randy Johnson, Kenosha Kings

Story by: Manitowoc Herald Times Reporter

The Wisconsin State League is one of the premier semi-professional/amateur baseball leagues in the mid-west. In operation since 1970, the Wisconsin State League is a highly competitive league that features many of the midwest's top current and former collegiate athletes, as well as many former professional baseball players. Keep up to date on everything happening in the Wisconsin State League by following the league online on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram. | #WSL